Carry on carrying on – the perks and perils of carry on luggage

Recently I was flying to Milwaukee out of Toronto’s Air Canada terminal 1.  I arrived the prescribed hours ahead with one suitcase to check.  piece o’cake, right?  not so…the normally short line to check baggage snaked around one corner,  and completely down the next hallway.  As people arrived to join the line, they were  shaking their heads in disbelief.  Moving slowly, people were pulled out of line by irate stewardesses insuring no one missed their flight.  Standing in line for over 1 1/2 hours just to drop off one bag, I became fearful that I would miss my flight and vowed to only have carry on luggage for my next trip.

Since that trip, I have been looking into buying the correctly sized case for carry on.  It should be a simple task, but no.  Each airline has their own measurements for what is acceptable, and the difference in the measurements is astounding.  There are stories of extra fees being charged for over sized carry on and some just being outright rejected. Do I buy a bag appropriate for each airline – uh, I don’t think so, or just check my bag in and arrive even earlier.

A recent article in the Globe and Mail discussed the problems with more  people carrying their luggage onto flights.  Not enough space is available in the overhead compartments, so the line within the plane itself is getting backed up while passengers find space,  delaying more  flights.

I think that it is up to the airlines to regulate carry on luggage sizes, make them universal and strictly enforce the regulations.

I am leaving for England in two weeks – am I carrying on my luggage?  Undecided.  would love to hear your thoughts and how you travel.

all photos: Creative Commons

About The blog of travel & lifestyle journalist Melody Wren

Melody is a freelance writer because she believes that work and fun should not be mutually exclusive. She writes about travel, food, lifestyle and green living. Melody loves staying in a place long enough to get acquainted. Local customs, markets and traditional cultures are magnets for this writer. When not writing she’s either on the road, in the air, or savoring something tasty. Most of her travels feature outdoor adventures of some sort, although she typically avoids sleeping on the ground. She is an ordinary person that enjoys challenging and pushing herself, facing fears with an eye on experiential travel. She needs to do it, feel it and see it so she can write about it. Her hope is that her stories encourage readers to get out there and do the same.
This entry was posted in Recent Trips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Carry on carrying on – the perks and perils of carry on luggage

  1. walizki says:

    Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to take a look.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be
    tweeting this to my followers! Exceptional blog and fantastic design and style.

Leave a Reply

